Lucid Dream Diary: ‘The World Was Burning’

Last night the cities burned for good. The cleanse of damnation. The truth on a re-run. A nightmare gone lucid. This is how they do it, after all, with fire and machines and laughter. The type of laughter that echoes in your head but never leaves the mouth. The type that their vocal cords can’t mimic.

And the destruction was just the beginning.

It’s the kind of burn that causes people to start showing their true colors. Or lack thereof. The type of burn that tells you to lie face down while I clean this with some spare solution scavenged. Screaming. Loss of wings, or loss of hope, or loss of civility. Farming. They are just one doorstep from madness at any given moment. Hanging by the mere thread of humanity. Impulsive. It is in everything but reality. It’s the type of burn that causes people to leave their own behind.

A conundrum, and both of us were far too calm about it. The screams and sirens echoed in the distance. The building lights flickered in the dark like a ship sinking into its final resting place of rot at the bottom of the black abyss. You’re my radio wave back home when these sort of things happen.

‘Just get some water down her throat and it’ll wake her back up.’

‘Ignore the man in a mad max truck he can’t harm you, he’s just obnoxious as hell.

There was a glare in your eyes that I couldn’t see. Something like the sun. How holy things can burn too. How they can intervene in the darkest of moments. How angels are sometimes terrifying.

It’s the kind of burn that’s sort of alien, but not alienated. Where these feelings dredge themselves up and spread amongst our own collective. How connected we’ve become. Our own little family forming throughout this madness.

Who do you have up there and why do I keep seeing into the past?

I’d never leave my own behind, but I do want to wake up outside of here. I’m tired of living this long dream of the damned, not tired of living. I’m just… tired of watching this all unfold, that helpless feeling. I think everyone in here can attest to that.

I need to wake up next time, for good.

Leave a comment