Lucid Dream Diary: ‘What moves faster than the speed of light?’

Awakening.

Every time you sleep we try to run the program.’ Again and again, until it finally loosens its grip on my subconscious.

I’m on the back of his motorcycle this time, and that same delirium begins. The dizziness, the eyelids forcibly closing. The mini death experience. That force that slowly slides you out of your own body, and the way your subconscious reacts to it. The safety of the seat feels like it’s drifting out from underneath me. Again and again. I know I’ll fall into the hyper-speed pavement if we don’t stop soon. I also know that none of this is real. I know that I need to keep going regardless, but the imminent threat feels all too real.

This time I shout out, ‘we’ve got to stop, I’m falling off,’ again and again, from behind his shoulder, my fingers losing their grip on his waist.

I wake up an instant after, and peel my eyes open to this mundane (un)reality. Again… and again.

His voice is thick through the noise of it, gently comforting yet gritting with determination. ‘When the program finally completes, it won’t matter. You’ll just wake up over here instead.’

Leave a comment